Date of membership: 14 January 1976

Short name: Venezuela

Capital: Caracas


Location: Northern South America, bordering the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, between Colombia and Guyana.

Area: 916,445 sq km

Land boundaries: 4,993 km

Border countries: Brazil 2,000 km, Colombia 2,050 km, Guyana 743 km

Coastline: 2.813 km

Natural resources: Petroleum, natural gas, iron ore, gold, bauxite, other minerals, hydropower, diamonds.

Environment - international agreements: Party to: Antarctic Treaty, Biodiversity, Climate Change, Climate Change-Kyoto Protocol, Desertification, Endangered Species, Hazardous Wastes, Marine Life Conservation, Ozone Layer Protection, Ship Pollution, Tropical Timber 83, Tropical Timber 94.

Economic indicators

Total at current prices   2 132 681 Millions USD 2016
Per capita at current prices 68 940 USD 2016
Growth rate per capita at 
constant prices
-10.8 % 2016
Country share in regional GDP 31.7 % 2016
Imports of goods and services 
(GDP at current prices)
-0.0 % 2016
Exports of goods and services
(GDP at current prices)
-0.0 % 2016

Source: Venezuela: Economic National ProfileCEPALSTAT. Databases 
and Statistical Publications. ECLAC.  On line. Inquiry: September 09, 

Socio-demographic indicators  

Total population   31 311 (000) 2017
Life expectancy NA Years 2015-2020
Women NA Years 2015-2020
Men NA Years 2015-2020
Public health expenditure 
as a percentage of GDP
5.3 % 2014
Literacy rate for persons between
the ages of 15 to 24
97.7 % 2015
Net rate of enrolment in 
primary education
90.7 % 2014
Net rate of enrolment in 
secondary education
74.8 % 2014
Public expenditure on education
as a percentage of GDP
6.9   % 2009
Gini Coefficient 0.41 % 2013
Uemployment 7.0 % 2015

Source: Venezuela: National Socio-Demographic Profile. ECLAC. On line. 
Inquiry: September 09, 2017. NA= Not available

Languages: Spanish (official), numerous indigenous dialects


Administrative divisions: 23 states (estados, singular - estado), 1 federal district (distrito federal), and 1 federal dependency (dependencia federal); Amazonas, Anzoategui, Apure, Aragua, Barinas, Bolivar, Carabobo, Cojedes, Delta Amacuro, Dependencias Federales, Distrito Federal, Falcon, Guarico, Lara, Merida, Miranda, Monagas, Nueva Esparta, Portuguesa, Sucre, Tachira, Trujillo, Vargas, Yaracuy, Zulia.
Note: The federal dependency consists of 11 federally controlled island groups with a total of 72 individual islands.

Independence: 5 July 1811 (from Spain)

Constitution: 30 December 2009

Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

Executive branch: Chief of state: President: Nicolás Maduro (since 19 April 2013); Vice President: Tareck El Aissami (since 4 January 2017)

Legislative branch: Unicameral National Assembly or Asamblea Nacional (165 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms; three seats reserved for the indigenous peoples of Venezuela).

Judicial branch: Supreme Tribunal of Justice or Tribunal Supremo de Justicia (magistrates are elected by the National Assembly for a single 12-year term)

Internet code: .ve

Official Web Portal: