Official name: REPUBLIC OF CHILE

Date of membership: 18 October 1977

Short name: Chile

Capital: Santiago de Chile


Location: Southern South America, bordering the South Pacific Ocean, between Argentina and Peru.

Area: 756,950 sq km

Land boundaries: 6,171 km

Border countries: Argentina 5,150 km, Bolivia 861 km, Peru 160 km

Coastline: 6,435 km

Natural resources: Copper, timber, iron ore, nitrates, precious metals, molybdenum, hydropower.

Environment - international agreements: Party to: Antarctic-Environmental Protocol, Antarctic-Marine Living Resources, Antarctic Seals, Antarctic Treaty, Biodiversity, Climate Change, Climate Change-Kyoto Protocol, Desertification, Endangered Species, Environmental Modification, Hazardous Wastes, Law of the Sea, Marine Dumping, Ozone Layer Protection, Ship Pollution.

Economic Indicators

Total at current prices  252 940 MIllions USD 2020
Per capita at current prices 13 230 USD 2020
Growth rate per cápita at constant prices -5.8 % 2020
Imports of goods and services (% of GDP at current prices) 26.3 % 2020
Exports of goods and services (% of GDP at current prices) 31.15 % 2020

Source: Chile: National Economic ProfileCEPALSTAT. Databases and Statistical Publications. ECLAC. Inquiry: February 14, 2022 

Socio-demographic indicators

Total population   19116.2 (000) 2020
Life expectancy 81 Años 2020-2025
Women 83 Años 2020-2025
Men 79 Años 2020-2025
Public health expenditure as a percentage of GDP 9.1 % 2018
Literacy rate for persons between the ages of 15 to 24 99.0 % 2017
Net rate of enrolment in primary education 99.5 % 2019
Net rate of enrolment in secondary education 95.3 % 2019
Public expenditure on education as a percentage of GDP 5.4 % 2018
Gini Coefficient 0.47 % 2020
Unemployment 10.8 % 2020
Migration -3.8 % 2020-2025

Source: Chile: National Socio-Demographic Profile. CEPALSTAT. Data Bases and Statistical Publications. ECLAC. Inquiry: February 14, 2022 

Language: Spanish (official)


Administrative divisions: 13 regions (regiones, singular - region); Aisen del General Carlos Ibanez del Campo, Antofagasta, Araucania, Atacama, Bio-Bio, Coquimbo, Libertador General Bernardo O'Higgins, Los Lagos, Magallanes y de la Antartica Chilena, Maule, Region Metropolitana (Santiago), Tarapaca, Valparaiso.

Independence: 18 September 1810 (from Spain)

Constitution: 11 September 1980, effective 11 March 1981; amended 30 July 1989, 1993, and 1997.

Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal and compulsory

Executive branch: Chief of state: President Gabriel Boric (since 11 March 2022).
Note: The president is both the chief of state and head of government

Legislative branch: Bicameral National Congress or Congreso Nacional consists of the Senate or Senado (48 seats, 38 elected by popular vote, 9 designated members, and 1 former president who has served a full six-year term and is senator for life); elected members serve eight-year terms (one-half elected every four years) and the Chamber of Deputies or Camara de Diputados (120 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms).

Judicial branch: Supreme Court or Corte Suprema (judges are appointed by the president and ratified by the Senate from lists of candidates provided by the court itself; the president of the Supreme Court is elected by the 21-member court); Constitutional Tribunal.

Internet code: .cl

Official Web Portal: