Official name: Barbados 

Date of Membership: 4 June 1976 

Capital: Bridgetown 


Location: Caribbean, island in the North Atlantic Ocean, northeast of Venezuela. 

Area: 431 sq km 

Coastline: 97 km 

Natural resources: Petroleum, fish, natural gas 

Environment - international agreements: Party to: Biodiversity, Climate Change, Climate Change-Kyoto Protocol, Desertification, Endangered Species, Hazardous Wastes, Law of the Sea, Marine Dumping, Ozone Layer Protection. 

Economic indicators 

Total at current prices  4 317  Millions USD 2016
Per capita at current prices 15 148 USD 2016
Growth rate per capita at constant prices 0.5 % 2016
Country share in regional GDP 0.1 % 2016
Imports of goods and services (% of GDP at current prices)) -53.2 % 2012
Exports of goods and services (% of GDP at current prices) 41.6 % 2012


Source: Barbados: National Economic profile.  CEPALSTAT. Databases and Statistical Publications. ECLAC.On line. Inquiry: Septembre 09, 2017

Socio-demographic indicators

Total population    286 (000) 2017
Life expectancy 76 Years 2015-2020
Women 78 Years 2015-2020
Men 74 Years 2015-2020
Public health expenditure as a percentage of GDP 7.5 % 2014
Literacy rate for persons between the ages of 15 to 24 NA NA NA
Net rate of enrolment in primary education 99.4 % 2014
Net rate of enrolment in secondary education 89.7 % 2014
Public expenditure on education as a percentage of GDP 6.7 % 2014
Gini Coefficient NA  NA NA
Unemployment  11.3 % 2015


Source: Barbados: National socio-demographic profileCEPALSTAT. Databases and Statistical Publications. ECLAC.On line. Inquiry: Septembre 09, 2017. NA= Not available

Languages: English 


Administrative divisions: 11 parishes and 1 city; Bridgetown, Christ Church, Saint Andrew, Saint George, Saint James, Saint John, Saint Joseph, Saint Lucy, Saint Michael, Saint Peter, Saint Philip, Saint Thomas. 

Independence: 30 November 1966 (from UK) 

Constitution: 30 November 1966 

Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal 

Executive branch: Queen Elizabeth II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Governor General Elliot Belgrave (since 1 June 2012)

Head of government: Prime Minister Freundel Suart (since 23 October 2010) 

Legislative branch: Bicameral Parliament consists of the Senate (21-member body appointed by the governor general) and the House of Assembly (30 seats; members are elected by direct popular vote to serve five-year terms). 

Judicial branch: Supreme Court of Judicature (judges are appointed by the Service Commissions for the Judicial and Legal Services). 

Internet country code: .bb 

Official Portal Web:

Ministry of Foreign Affairs: