Short name: Bolivia

Date of membership: 7 June 1976

Capital: La Paz (seat of government); Sucre (legal capital and seat of judiciary)


Location: Central South America, southwest of Brazil

Area: 1,098,580 sq km

Land boundaries: 6,940 km

Border countries: Argentina 832 km, Brazil 3,423 km, Chile 860 km, Paraguay 750 km, Peru 1,075 km.

Natural resources: Natural gas, petroleum, zinc, tungsten, antimony, silver, iron, lead, gold, timber, hydropower.

Environment - international agreements: Party to: Biodiversity, Climate Change, Climate Change-Kyoto Protocol, Desertification, Endangered Species, Hazardous Wastes, Law of the Sea, Marine Dumping, Ozone Layer Protection, Tropical Timber 83, Tropical Timber 94.

 Economic indicators

Total at current prices  36573 Millions USD 2020
Per capita au current prices 3133 USD 2020
Growth rate per capita at constant prices -10.1 % 2020
Imports of goods and services  (% of GDP at current prices) 25.3 % ND
Exports of goods and services  (% of GDP at current prices) 20.4 % ND

Source: Bolivia: National Economic ProfileCEPALSTAT. Databases and Statistical Publications. ECLAC. Inquiry: February 14, 2022

Socio-demographic indicators

Total population   11 673.0 (000) 2020
Life expectancy 72 Years 2020-2025
Women 75 Years 2020-2025
Men 70 Years 2020-2025
Public health expenditure as a percentage of GDP 6.3 % 2018
Literacy rate for persons between the ages of 15 to 24 99.4 % 2015
Net rate of enrolment in primary education 94.7 % 2019
Net rate of enrolment in secondary education 78.2 % 2019
Public expenditure on education as a percentage of GDP ND % ND
Gini Coefficient 0.45 % 2020
Unemployment 8.3 % 2020
Migration -0.6 % 2020-2025

Source: Bolivia: National Socio-Demographic Profile. CEPALSTAT. Data Bases and Statistical Publications. ECLAC. Inquiry: February 14, 2022

Languages: Spanish (official), Quechua (official), Aymara (official)


Administrative divisions: 9 departments (departamentos, singular- departamento); Chuquisaca, Cochabamba, Beni, La Paz, Oruro, Pando, Potosi, Santa Cruz, Tarija.

Independence: 6 August 1825 (from Spain)

Constitution: 7 February 2009

Suffrage: 18 years of age, universal and compulsory (married); 21 years of age, universal and compulsory (single).

Executive branch: Chief of state: President: Luis Arce. Vice-president: David Choquehuanca
Note: The president is both chief of state and head of government.

Legislative branch: Bicameral National Congress or Congreso Nacional consists of Chamber of Senators or Camara de Senadores (27 seats; members are elected by proportional representation from party lists to serve five-year terms) and Chamber of Deputies or Camara de Diputados (130 seats; 68 are directly elected from their districts and 62 are elected by proportional representation from party lists to serve five-year terms).

Judicial branch: Supreme Court or Corte Suprema (judges appointed for 10-year terms by National Congress); District Courts (one in each department); provincial and local courts (to try minor cases).

Internet code: .bo

Web Official Portal