Short name: Argentina

Capital: Buenos Aires

Date of membership:  January 10 1977


Location: South of South America, bordering the South Atlantic Ocean, between Chile and Uruguay.

Area: 3,761,274 km²

Land boundaries: 9,665 km.

Border countries:

North: Republics of Bolivia and Paraguay, with its northernmost point at the confluence of the Grande de San Juan and Mojinete, province of Jujuy (Lat. 21° 46' S, Long. 66° 13' W).

South: Republic of Chile and the Atlantic Ocean, being its southernmost point Cabo San Pio, located on the island of Tierra del Fuego, (Lat. 55° 03' S, Long. 66° 31' W).

East: Federative Republic of Brazil, Eastern Republic of Uruguay and the Atlantic Ocean. Its easternmost point is located northeast of the town of Bernardo de Irigoyen, Misiones Province (Lat. 26 ° 15'S, Long. 53 ° 38'W).

West: Republic of Chile. Its westernmost point is located between Cerro Agassis and Cerro Bolados (Cordon Mariano Moreno ) in Los Glaciares National Park, Santa Cruz Province (Lat. 49° 33' S, Long. 73° 34' W).

Coastline: 4,989 km

Climate: Its climate ranges from warm and temperate to arid and cold. Such variety is due to the extension of its territory and its geographical features.

Natural resources: minerals (such as gas, coal, and petroleum), fertile agricultural land, and tourist sites.

Environment - international agreements. Party to: Antarctic-Environmental Protection, Antarctic-Marine Living Resources, Antarctic Seals, Antarctic Treaty, Biodiversity, Climate Change, Climate Change-Kyoto Protocol, Climate Change-Paris Agreement, Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban, Desertification, Endangered Species, Environmental Modification, Hazardous Wastes, Law of the Sea, Marine Dumping-London Convention, Nuclear Test Ban, Ozone Layer Protection, Ship Pollution, Wetlands, Whaling.

Economic indicators 

Total at current prices   389591 Millions USD 2020
Per capita at current prices 8620 USD 2019
Growth rate per capita at constant prices -10.7 % 2020
Imports of goods and services (% of GDP at current prices) 13.6 % 2020
Exports of goods and services (% of GDP at current prices) 16.6 % 2020

Source: Argentina: National Economic ProfileCEPALSTAT. Databases and Statistical Publications. ECLAC. Inquiry: 11-02-22

Socio-demographic indicators 

Total population    45 195.8 (000) 2020
Life expectancy 77 Years 2020-2025
Women 80 Years 2020-2025
Men 74 Years 2020-2025
Public health expenditure as a percentage of GDP  9.6 % 2018
Literacy rate for persons between the ages of 15 to 24 99.5 % 2018
Net rate of enrolment in primary education 99.6 % 2019
Net rate of enrolment in secondary education 89.3 % 2019
Public expenditure on education as a percentage of GDP 4.8 % 2019
Gini Coefficient ND ND  ND
Unemployment  11.5 % 2020
Migration 0.1 % 2020-2025

Source: Argentina: National Socio-Demographic Profile.CEPALSTAT. Data Bases and Statistical Publications. ECLAC. Inquiry: 11-02-22

Language: Spanish


The system of government adopts the representative, republican and federal system (Constitution, Article 1). The people directly elect their representatives.

Administrative Organization: 23 provinces and 1 autonomous city (Distrito Federal) Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires Capital Federal, Catamarca, Chaco, Chubut, Cordoba, Corrientes, Entre Rios, Formosa, Jujuy, La Pampa, La Rioja, Mendoza, Misiones, Neuquen , Black River, Salta, San Juan, San Luis, Santa Cruz, Santa Fe, Santiago del Estero, Tierra del Fuego - Antarctica and South Atlantic Islands, Tucumán.

Independence: independence from Spain on 9 July 1816.

Constitution: promulgated on May 1, 1853. Amended in August 1994.

Suffrage: 18 years of age. The vote is universal and compulsory.

Executive branch

It is held by the President of the Nation. Head of State: President Alberto Fernández  (since December 2019); Vice-PresidentCristina Fernandez (since December 2019).

Legislative branch

It is vested in a Congress composed of two houses: one of Deputies and the other of Senators from the provinces and the City of Buenos Aires.

Chamber of Deputies, Made up by representatives directly elected by the people of the provinces of Buenos Aires, and the Capital in case of transfer, which are considered for this purpose as constituencies of a single state, and a simple plurality of votes.

Senate: Consists of three senators from each province and three by the City of Buenos Aires, elected directly and jointly, two seats to the political party having the greatest number of votes, and the remaining political party that will follow in the number of votes. Each senator has one vote.

Judicial branch

It is exercised by the Supreme Court, and judges and courts of the various agencies and jurisdictions. Jury Trial and the Council of the Magistracy are permanent bodies of the judiciary. It also includes the national courts, Attorney General, Public Prosecutor and the Public Ministry of Defence.

Internet domain: ar

Official Web site:

President’s Office site:

Ministry of Foreign Affairs: