Date of membership: 19 September 1986

Short name: Paraguay

Capital: Asuncion


Location: Central South America, northeast of Argentina

Area: 406,750 sq km

Land boundaries: 3,920 km

Border countries: Argentine 1,880 km, Bolivia 750 km, Brazil 1,290 km

Natural resources: Hydropower, timber, iron ore, manganese, limestone

Environment - international agreements: Party to: Biodiversity, Climate Change, Climate Change-Kyoto Protocol, Desertification, Endangered Species, Hazardous Wastes, Law of the Sea, Ozone Layer Protection, Wetlands Signed, but not ratified: none of the selected agreements.

Economic indicators  

Total at current prices   35 646 Millions USD 2020
Per capita at current prices 4998 USD 2020
Growth rate per capita at constant prices -1.9 % 2020
Imports of goods and services (GDP at current prices)
29.3 % 2020
Export of goods and services (GDP at current prices) 33.5 % 2020

Source: Paraguay: Economic National Profile. CEPALSTAT. Databases and Statistical 
Publications. ECLAC. Inquiry: February 24, 2022

Socio-demographic indicators

Total population   7 132.5 (000) 2020
Life expectancy 75 Años 2020_2025
Women 77 Años 2020_2025
Men 73 Años 2020_2025
Public health expenditure as a percentage of GDP 6.7 % 2018
Literacy rate for persons between the ages of 15 to 24 98.6 % 2020
Net rate of enrolment in primary education 80.3 % 2020
Net rate of enrolment in secondary education 70.0 % 2020
Public expenditure on education as a percentage of GDP 3.5 % 2019
Gini Coefficient 0.45 ND  2020
 Unemployment 7.7 % 2020
Migration -2.1 % 2020-2025

Source: Paraguay: National Socio-Demographic Profile. CEPALSTAT. Data Bases and Statistical Publications. ECLAC. Inquiry: February 24, 2022

Languages: Spanish (official), Guarani (official)


Administrative divisions: 17 departments (departamentos, singular - departamento) and 1 capital city: Alto Paraguay, Alto Parana, Amambay, Asuncion, Boqueron, Caaguazu, Caazapa, Canindeyu, Central, Concepcion, Cordillera, Guaira, Itapua, Misiones, Neembucu, Paraguari, Presidente Hayes, San Pedro.

Independence: 14 May 1811 (from Spain)

Constitution: Promulgated 20 June 1992

Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal and compulsory up to age 75

Executive branch: Chief of state: President Santiago Peña Palacios. The president is both the chief of state and head of government. Vice President Pedro Alliana.

Legislative branch: Bicameral Congress or Congreso consists of the Chamber of Senators or Camara de Senadores (45 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms) and the Chamber of Deputies or Camara de Diputados (80 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)

Judicial branch: Supreme Court of Justice or Corte Suprema de Justicia (judges appointed on the proposal of the Council of Magistrates or Consejo de la Magistratura).

Internet country code: .py

Official Portal Web: