Short name: Ecuador 

Date of membership: 2 April 1976 

Capital: Quito 


Location: Western South America, bordering the Pacific Ocean at the Equator, between Colombia and Peru. 

Area: 283,561 km2 

Land boundaries: 2,010 km 

Border countries: Colombia 590 km, Peru 1,420 km 

Coastline: 2,237 km 

Natural resources: petroleum, fish, timber, hydropower minerals, hydropower, diamonds. 

Environment - international agreements: Party to: Antarctic-Environmental Protocol, Antarctic Treaty, Biodiversity, Climate Change, Climate Change-Kyoto Protocol, Desertification, Endangered Species, Hazardous Wastes, Ozone Layer Protection, Ship Pollution, Tropical Timber 83, Tropical Timber 94. 

Economic indicators

Total at current prices  97808 MIllions USD 2020
Per capita at current prices  5600 USD  2020
Growth rate per capita at constant prices -9.2 % 2020
Imports of goods and services (% of GDP at current prices)  20.8 % 2020
Exports of goods and services (% of GDP at current prices) 22.5 % 2020


Source: Ecuador: Economic National Profile. CEPALSTAT. Databases and Statistical Publications. ECLAC.
Inquiry: February 23, 2022

Socio-demographic indicators 

Total population  17643.1 (000) 2020
Life expectancy 78 Años 2020-2025
Women 80 Años 2020-2025
Men 75 Años 2020-2025
Public health expenditure as a percentage of GDP 8.1 % 2018
Literacy rate for persons between the ages of 15 to 24 98.8 % 2020
Net rate of enrolment in primary education 98.6 % 2020
Net rate of enrolment in secondary education 78.7 % 2020
Public expenditure on education as a percentage of GDP 4.1 % 2020
Gini Coefficient 0.47 % 2020
Unemployment 5.9 % 2020
Migration -12 % 2020-2025
Source: Ecuador: National Socio-Demographic Profile. CEPALSTAT. Data Bases and Statistical Publications.
ECLAC. Inquiry: February 23, 2022
Languages: Spanish (official), Amerindian languages (especially Quechua)

Administrative divisions: 22 provinces (provincias, singular - provincia): Azuay, Bolivar, Canar, Carchi, Chimborazo, Cotopaxi, El Oro, Esmeraldas, Galapagos, Guayas, Imbabura, Loja, Los Rios, Manabi, Morona-Santiago, Napo, Orellana, Pastaza, Pichincha, Sucumbios, Tungurahua, Zamora-Chinchipe 

Independence: 24 May 1822 (from Spain) 

Constitution: 20 October 2008 

Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal, compulsory for literate persons ages 18-65, optional for other eligible voters. 

Executive branch: Chief of state: President Daniel Noboa. Vicepresident Verónica Abad
Note: The president is both the chief of state and head of government. 

Legislative branch: Unicameral National Congress or Congreso Nacional (100 seats; members are popularly elected by province to serve four-year terms) 

Judicial branch: Supreme Court or Corte Suprema (according to the Constitution, new justices are elected by the full Supreme Court) 

Internet code: .ec 

Official Web Portal: