Date of membership: 14 January 1976

Short name: México

Capital: Mexico City


Location: Middle America, bordering the Caribbean Sea and the Gulf of Mexico, between Belize and the US and bordering the North Pacific Ocean, between Guatemala and the US.

Area: 1.964.375 km2

Land boundaries: 4,353 km

Border countries: Belize, 250 km; Guatemala, 962 km; EE.UU 3.141 km

Coastline: 9,330 km

Natural resources: Petroleum, silver, copper, gold, lead, zinc, natural gas, timber.

Environment - international agreements: Party to: Biodiversity, Climate Change, Climate Change-Kyoto Protocol, Desertification, Endangered Species, Hazardous Wastes, Law of the Sea, Marine Dumping, Marine Life Conservation, Ozone Layer Protection, Ship Pollution, Wetlands, Whaling signed, but not ratified: none of the selected agreements.

Economic indicators 

Total at current prices 1 087 117 Millions USD 2020
Per capita at current prices 8 432 USD 2020
Growth rate per capita at constant prices -9.1 % 2020
Imports of goods and services (GDP in current prices) 37.6 % 2020
Exports of goods and services (GDP in current prices) 39.7 % 2020

Source: ECLAC. Mexico: Economic National Profile. CEPALSTAT. Databases and Statistical Publications. Inquiry: February 23, 2022

Socio-demographic indicators

Total population   128 932.8 (000) 2020
Life expectancy 75 Años 2020-2025
Women 78 Años 2020-2025
Men 73 Años 2020-2025
Public health expenditure as a percentage of GDP 5.4 % 2018
Literacy rate for persons between the ages of 15 to 24 99.1 % 2020
Net rate of enrolment in primary education 95.5 % 2016
Net rate of enrolment in secondary education 77.2 % 2016
Public expenditure on education as a percentage of GDP 4.3 % 2018
Gini Coefficient 0.50 ND  2016
Unemployment 4.4 % 2020
Migración -0.4 % 2020-2025

Source: Mexico: National Socio-Demographic Profile. CEPALSTAT. Data Bases and Statistical Publications. ECLAC.
Inquiry: February 23, 2022

Languages: Spanish (official), Mayan, Nahuatl and other regional indigenous languages.


Administrative divisions: 31 states (estados, singular - estado) and 1 federal district (distrito federal): Aguascalientes, Baja California, Baja California Sur, Campeche, Chiapas, Chihuahua, Coahuila de Zaragoza, Colima, Distrito Federal*, Durango, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jalisco, México, Michoacan de Ocampo, Morelos, Nayarit, Nuevo León, Oaxaca, Puebla, Queretaro de Arteaga, Quintana Roo, San Luis Potosi, Sinaloa, Sonora, Tabasco, Tamaulipas, Tlaxcala, Veracruz-Llave, Yucatan, Zacatecas

Independence: 16 September 1810 (from Spain)

Constitution: 5 February 1917

Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal and compulsory (but not enforced)

Executive branch: Chief of state: President Andrés Manuel López Obrador (since 1 December 2018); 
Note. The president is both the chief of state and head of government

Legislative branch: Bicameral National Congress or Congreso de la Unión consists of the Senate or Camara de Senadores (128 seats; 96 are elected by popular vote to serve six-year terms, and 32 are allocated on the basis of each party's popular vote) and the Federal Chamber of Deputies or Camara Federal de Diputados (500 seats; 300 members are directly elected by popular vote to serve three-year terms; remaining 200 members are allocated on the basis of each party's popular vote, also for three-year terms).

Judicial branch: Supreme Court of Justice or Suprema Corte de Justicia Nacional (justices or minister are appointed by the president with consent of the Senate).

Internet country code: .mx

Official Portal Web: