Official name: Co-operative Republic of Guyana 

Short name: Guyana 

Date of membership: 17 January 1976 

Capital: Georgetown 


Administrative divisions: 10 regions: Barima-Waini, Cuyuni-Mazaruni, Demerara-Mahaica, East Berbice-Corentyne, Essequibo Islands-West Demerara, Mahaica-Berbice, Pomeroon-Supenaam, Potaro-Siparuni, Upper Demerara-Berbice, Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo. 

Independence: 26 May 1966 (from UK) 

Constitution: 6 October 1980 

Suffrage: 16 years of age; universal 

Executive branch: Chief of state: President Donald Ramotar (since 03 December 2011). 

Head of government: Prime Minister Samuel Hinds (since October 1992, except for a period as chief of state after the death of President Cheddi Jagan on 6 March 1997. 

Cabinet: Cabinet of Ministers appointed by the president, responsible to the legislature. Prime minister appointed by the president. 

Legislative branch: Unicameral National Assembly (68 seats, 65 elected by popular vote, 1 elected Speaker of the National Assembly, and 2 nonvoting members appointed by the president; members serve five-year terms). 

Judicial branch: Supreme Court of Judicature; Judicial Court of Appeal; High Court. 

Internet country code: .gy 

Official Portal Web:


Location: Northern South America, bordering the North Atlantic Ocean, between Suriname and Venezuela. 

Area: 214,970 sq km 

Land boundaries: 2,462 km 

Border countries: Brazil 1,119 km, Suriname 600 km, Venezuela 743 km 

Coastline: 459 km 

Natural resources: Bauxite, gold, diamonds, hardwood timber, shrimp, fish 

Environment - international agreements: Party to: Biodiversity, Climate Change, Climate Change-Kyoto Protocol, Desertification, Endangered Species, Hazardous Wastes, Law of the Sea, Ozone Layer Protection, Ship Pollution, Tropical Timber 83, Tropical Timber 94. 

Economic indicators 

Total at current prices (2013) 3555 Millions USD 2017
Per capita at current prices 4571 USD 2017
Growth rate per capita at constant prices 1.6 % 2017
Country share in regional GDP 0.1 % 2017
Imports of goods and services (% of GDP at current prices)  NA NA NA
Exports of goods and services (% of GDP at current prices)  NA NA NA

Source: Guyana: National Economic Profile. CEPALSTAT. Databases and Statistical Publications. ECLAC. On line. Inquiry: July 07, 2019. NA= Data not avilable

Socio-demographic indicators

Total population   783 (000) 2019
Life expectancy 67 % (2015-2020)
Women 69 % (2015-2020)
Men 65 % (2015-2020)
Public health expenditure as a percentage of GDP 4.5 % 2015
Literacy rate for persons between the ages of 15 to 24 96.7 % 2014
Net rate of enrolment in primary education 91.5 % 2012
Net rate of enrolment in secondary education 83.2 % 2012
Public expenditure on education as a percentage of GDP 0.0 % 2017
Gini Coefficient NA NA NA
Unemployment NA NA NA

Source: Guyana: National Socio-Demographic Profile. CEPALSTAT. Data Bases and Statistical Publications. ECLAC. On line. Inquiry: July 07, 2019. NA= Data not available

Languages: English, Amerindian dialects, Creole, Hindi, Urdu