SELA marks 42nd anniversary cooperating with Latin America and the Caribbean

October 18, 2017

Logo _SELA_Fondo _Blanco _Grande


The Latin American and Caribbean Economic System (SELA), an intergovernmental organization for coordination and economic cooperation, is marking its 42nd anniversary of uninterrupted work for the coordination of positions and common strategies in the region.

SELA is a regional consultation mechanism, of a permanent nature, made up by 26 Latin American and Caribbean States: Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Dominican Republic, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Among other activities, the Permanent Secretariat of SELA has carried out systemic studies on regional integration in economic and commercial matters, while promoting cooperation and integration among its Member States.

For further information, see the Panama Convention establishing SELA or visit SELA’s Web site: