Update Main
Documents Events Press Data Bases SELA - SMEs Regional
Publications Videos

Start > Member States > Argentine
Member States - Argentine

Date of membership: 10 January 1977

Short name: Argentina

Capital: Buenos Aires

Geography and climateLocation: South of South America, bordering the South Atlantic Ocean, between Chile and Uruguay.

Area: 3,761,274 km², of which 2,791,810 km² are located in the Americas, and 969,464 km² in the Antarctic continent (including South Orkney Islands) and the Austral Islands (South Georgia and Sandwich del Sur). It is the fourth largest country in the Americas (after Canada, the United States of America and the Federative Republic of Brazil) and the seventh largest country in the world.

Land boundaries: 9,665 km.

Border countries:

North: Republics of Bolivia and Paraguay, with its northernmost point at the confluence of the Grande de San Juan and Mojinete, province of Jujuy (Lat. 21° 46' S, Long. 66° 13' W).

South: Republic of Chile and the Atlantic Ocean, being its southernmost point Cabo San Pio, located on the island of Tierra del Fuego, (Lat. 55° 03' S, Long. 66° 31' W).

East: Federative Republic of Brazil, Eastern Republic of Uruguay and the Atlantic Ocean. Its easternmost point is located northeast of the town of Bernardo de Irigoyen, Misiones Province (Lat. 26 ° 15'S, Long. 53 ° 38'W).

West: Republic of Chile. Its westernmost point is located between Cerro Agassis and Cerro Bolados (Cordon Mariano Moreno ) in Los Glaciares National Park, Santa Cruz Province (Lat. 49° 33' S, Long. 73° 34' W).

Coastline: 4,989 km

Climate: Its climate ranges from warm and temperate to arid and cold. Such variety is due to the extension of its territory and its geographical features.

Population (State of World Population 2010)

Total population (millions 2010): 40.7
Projected population (millions) (2050): 50.9
Average population growth rate (2005-2010) (%): 1.0
% Urban (2010): 92
Urban growth rate (2005-2010): 1.0
Total fertility rate (2010): 2.21
Infant mortality, Total per 1.000 live births total: 13
Maternal mortality ratio: 77

Human Development Indicators

Health Life expectancy at birth (years) 75.7
Education Mean years of schooling (of adults) (years) 9.3
Income GNI per capita (2008 PPP US$) LN 9.6
Inequality Inequality-adjusted HDI value 0.622
Poverty Multidimensional poverty index (k greater than or equal to 3) 0.011
Genre Gender Inequality Index, value 0.534
Sustainability Adjusted net savings (% of GNI) 7.7
Human Security Refugees (thousands) 1.2
Composite Indices HDI value 0.775
Human Development Index Rank Posición 46


Adult literacy rate (both sexes) (% ages 15 and older): 97.8
Combined gross enrolment ratio in education (both sexes) (%): 88.6
Expenditure on education (% of GDP) (%): 4.9
Internet users (per 100 people): 28.1
Mean years of schooling (of adults) (years): 9.3
Expected years of schooling (of children) (years):15.5


Prevalence of undernourishment in total population (% of population): less than 5
Public expenditure on health, public (% of GDP): 5.1
Under-five mortality (per 1,000 live births)


Multidimensional poverty index (k greater than or equal to 3): 0.011
Intensity of deprivation: 37.7
MPI: Headcount ( k greater than or equal to 3), population in poverty (% of population): 3.0
Population living below $1.25 PPP per day (%): 3.39

Language: Spanish


The system of government adopts the representative, republican and federal system (Constitution, Article 1). The people directly elect their representatives.

Administrative Organization: 23 provinces and 1 autonomous city (Distrito Federal) Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires Capital Federal, Catamarca, Chaco, Chubut, Cordoba, Corrientes, Entre Rios, Formosa, Jujuy, La Pampa, La Rioja, Mendoza, Misiones, Neuquen , Black River, Salta, San Juan, San Luis, Santa Cruz, Santa Fe, Santiago del Estero, Tierra del Fuego - Antarctica and South Atlantic Islands, Tucumán.

Independence: independence from Spain on 9 July 1816.

Constitution: promulgated on May 1, 1853. Amended in August 1994.

Suffrage: 18 years of age. The vote is universal and compulsory.

Executive branch

It is held by the President of the Nation. Head of State: President Cristina Fernández de Kirchner (December 2011), Vice-President Amado Boudou (December 2011).

Legislative branch

It is vested in a Congress composed of two houses: one of Deputies and the other of Senators from the provinces and the City of Buenos Aires.

Chamber of Deputies, Made up by representatives directly elected by the people of the provinces of Buenos Aires, and the Capital in case of transfer, which are considered for this purpose as constituencies of a single state, and a simple plurality of votes.

Senate: Consists of three senators from each province and three by the City of Buenos Aires, elected directly and jointly, two seats to the political party having the greatest number of votes, and the remaining political party that will follow in the number of votes. Each senator has one vote.

Judicial branch

It is exercised by the Supreme Court, and judges and courts of the various agencies and jurisdictions. Jury Trial and the Council of the Magistracy are permanent bodies of the judiciary. It also includes the national courts, Attorney General, Public Prosecutor and the Public Ministry of Defence.


Currency: The peso ($, ARS), divided into 100 cents.
Gross Domestic Product (GDP) - National currency - Current prices: 1911.70
Gross Domestic Product (GDP) - per capita: 10,940.37
Unemployment rate: 9003
Government revenues - Percentage of GDP: 38,656
External debt (Billions) - Percent of GDP: 40,714
Imports of goods and services: 23,959
Exports of goods and services: 16,793
Inflation: 301,871

Internet domain: ar

Official Web site:


President’s Office site:



Official Web Site


International Human Development Indicators - UNDP

Direction of Trade and Statistics (DOTS) – International Monetary Fund

State of World Population 2010. Division of Information and External Relations UNFPA Population Fund United Nations

What is SELA?
Latin American Council
Member States
The Bahamas
Dominican Republic
El Salvador
Trinidad and Tobago